

Sarah VanLanduyt Executive Director 15301 W. 87<sup>th</sup> St. Pkwy, Ste. B40 Lenexa, KS 66219 913.894.2720 sarah@artsjoco.org www.artsjoco.org

> For Immediate Release April 9, 2013

# The Arts Council of Johnson County Names 2013 Shooting Stars Scholarship Recipients at Annual Gala

Lenexa, Kan. – The Arts Council of Johnson County announced 18 scholarship recipients and 9 teacher honorarium awardees at the Annual Shooting Stars Gala on April 7<sup>th</sup> at the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art and Yardley Hall, Johnson County Community College.

# The 2013 Scholarship Recipients are:

In the category of Two-Dimensional Visual Art

Slater Sousley 1st place scholarship recipient from Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy nominated by Kelly Reichman. Kelly Reichman was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Jane Chaffee 2nd place scholarship recipient from Shawnee Mission South High School nominated by Jennifer Hudson.

### In the category of Three-Dimensional Visual Art

Kayla Yi 1st place scholarship recipient from Blue Valley Southwest High School nominated by Shawn Steller. Shawn Steller was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Anya Rew 2nd place scholarship recipient from Olathe North High School nominated by Hollie Rice.

# In the category of Photography

Claire Marley 1st place scholarship recipient from Shawnee Mission Northwest High School nominated by Melinda Heaton. Melinda Heaton was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Carissa Kemnitz 2nd place scholarship recipient from Olathe East High School nominated by Sara Silks.



Sarah VanLanduyt Executive Director 15301 W. 87<sup>th</sup> St. Pkwy, Ste. B40 Lenexa, KS 66219 913.894.2720 sarah@artsjoco.org www.artsjoco.org

> For Immediate Release April 9, 2013

## In the category of Literature

Jessica Glueck 1st place scholarship recipient from Blue Valley North High School nominated by Susan Whitfield. Susan Whitfield was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Willow Germinaro 2nd place scholarship recipient from Olathe North High School nominated by Molly Runde.

## In the category of Production & Design

Kaelyn Kreicbergs 1st place scholarship recipient from Olathe South High School nominated by David Hastings. David Hastings was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Taylor Horvat 2<sup>nd</sup> place scholarship recipient from Olathe Northwest High School nominated by Rory Porter.

## In the category of Strings

Ali Felman 1st place scholarship recipient from Shawnee Mission East High School nominated by Jonathan Lane. Jonathan Lane was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Richard Griggs 2nd place scholarship recipient from Olathe Northwest High School nominated by Joel Martin.

# In the category of Theatre Performance

Brooke Bosworth 1st place scholarship recipient from Olathe South High School nominated by David Hastings. David Hastings was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Lily Kaufmann 2nd place scholarship recipient from Shawnee Mission East High School nominated by Brian Cappello.



Sarah VanLanduyt Executive Director 15301 W. 87<sup>th</sup> St. Pkwy, Ste. B40 Lenexa, KS 66219 913.894.2720 sarah@artsjoco.org www.artsjoco.org

> For Immediate Release April 9, 2013

In the category of Voice Classical

Michael Fibelkorn 1st place scholarship recipient from Gardner-Edgerton High School nominated by Todd Burd. Todd Burd was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Garrett Viets 2nd place scholarship recipient from Shawnee Mission West High School nominated by Laura VanLeeuwen.

In the category of Winds & Percussion

Erin Doyle 1st place scholarship recipient from Blue Valley Northwest High School nominated by John Selzer. John Selzer was also awarded a teacher honorarium.

Emma Reno 2nd place scholarship recipient from Shawnee Mission East High School nominated by Kim Harrison.

Founded by Robert G. Endres in 1997, the first Shooting Stars Recognition, Awards and Scholarship Program celebrated just 27 Finalists. Fifteen years later Mr. Endres's dream continues, recognizing nearly 1,000 students, awarding over \$200,000 in scholarships and \$60,000 in teacher honorariums since the program's creation.

Shooting Stars also remains one of the few initiatives in the community to honor high school students and their arts educators for artistic excellence in Literature, Performing and Visual Arts.

To become a Shooting Stars Finalist, students must be residents of Johnson County, a graduating senior in high school, and nominated by an arts educator in one of nine scholarship categories.



Sarah VanLanduyt
Executive Director
15301 W. 87<sup>th</sup> St. Pkwy, Ste. B40
Lenexa, KS 66219
913.894.2720
sarah@artsjoco.org
www.artsjoco.org

## For Immediate Release

April 9, 2013

Once nominated, Finalists either perform a live audition or submit their portfolio of work before two professional judges. Using the scholarship guidelines and judging criteria, Judges then select a first place (\$1400) and second place (\$700) scholarship recipient. Nominating teachers of the first place scholarship recipient receive a \$350 award. The Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art also exhibits one piece from each of the 2-Dimensional, 3-Dimensional, and Photography Finalists. The student exhibition opens the day of the Shooting Stars Gala and is on display at the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art through the end of April.

Alumni of the Shooting Stars Program include: Hesse McGraw (1997) Artist and Chief Curator for the Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts; Rashawn Griffin (1998), Artist whose recent exhibitions include the Whitney Biennial 2008, Whitney Museum of American Art and a hole-in-the-wall country, Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art; Bess Wallerstein Huff (2000), founder & owner of CounterClockwise Comedy and founder & Producing Artistic Director of One Time Productions; Cory Imig (2004), Artist, Curator and founding member of Plug Projects, whose recent exhibitions include Focus: OK/KC -Oklahoma, Hardesty Art Center; and Frances Zhou (2010) student pursuing a mechanical engineering degree at Cornell University and member of the Violet satellite team.

For more information about the Shooting Stars Program please contact The Arts Council of Johnson County at 913.894.2720 or email <a href="mailto:sarah@artsjoco.org">sarah@artsjoco.org</a>

The Arts Council of Johnson County (ACJC) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to enhance the quality of life in the community by strengthening the arts.